FPCCI & Fiji Chamber to Form the Landmark Joint Business Council Irfan Iqbal Sheikh

Karachi (PR): Mr. Irfan Iqbal Sheikh, President FPCCI, has expressed his satisfaction on the signing of an MoU to establish Pakistan-Fiji Joint Business Council to promote trade, investments, joint ventures and economic cooperation between the two countries. The high-profile ceremony saw the participation of Commerce Minister of Fiji, Pakistani High Commissioner in Australia and the President of Fiji Chamber of Commerce & Industry.

Mr. Irfan Iqbal Sheikh apprised the audiences that there is an enormous untapped potential to export a number of Pakistani goods and services to Fiji; namely, value-added textiles, IT services, food products, surgical instruments, sports goods and construction materials.

H.E. Zahid Hafeez Chaudhri, High Commissioner of Pakistan in Australia & Fiji (non-resident), lauded the establishment of the joint business council and called it a historic moment in Pakistan & Fiji economic relations as it is the first-ever agreement of its kind between the two countries.

H.E. Faiyaz Siddiq Koya, Fiji’s Minster for Commerce, Trade, Tourism and Transport, maintained that people-to-people and business-to-business contacts can play an instrumental role in mutually-beneficial trade & economic cooperation. He emphasized that Fiji is an attractive investment destination as it has consistent economic policies. Fiji is also a flourishing outsourcing market for the pacific region, he added.

Dr. Nur Bano Ali, President of Fiji Chamber of Commerce & Industry, welcomed the appointment of Mr. Saud Minam – who has also served as the CEO of Fiji Development Bank – as the first chairman of the joint business council.

Mr. Amjad Rafi, Senior Member FPCCI has proposed that after the formation of joint business council, the next objective of the two counterpart chambers should be to establish Pakistan-Fiji joint chamber of commerce and has also welcomed the trade delegation from Fiji to visit Pakistan.

Brig Iftikhar Opel, SI (M), Retd.

Secretary General